List of Party Wise Railway Ministers of India Since Independance

The Railway Minister of India is the chief of the Ministry of Railways of the Indian Government. The indian railway minister is generally given a cabinet rank, and is accountable for Indian Railways, the biggest employer in the globe. The railway minister presents the railway budget (Annual Financial Statement of Indian Railways) of the fiscal year in Parliament. Piyush Goyal of the BJP is the present (2017) Minister of Railways, who is on seat since 3.9.2017.

Piyush Goyal takes charge and the responsibility of the India’s rail transport. Piyush Goyal monitors the state owned Indian Railways who is also headed as the Chairman of the railway Board. The Railway Minister of India makes and presents the Rail budget annually in the parliament. Before Piyush Goyal appointed as the new Railway Minister of India, Suresh Prabhu from BJP was the Railway Minister. Some other ministers were reshuffled during modi’s cabinet and that include Lal Bahadur Shastri, Nitish Kumar, Mamta Bannerjee, Bansi Lal, George Fernandes, Jagjivan Ram, S.K. Patil, Gulzarilal Nanda, Ram Vilas Paswan, Lalu Prasad Yadav and Pawan Kumar Bansal.

Following are the list of railway ministers of past years since independance of India. Some of them served for long term and few are very short term as incumbents and are of from different parties.

S. NoNameFromToPolitical Party
1Piyush GoyalSept 03, 2017IncumbentBharatiya Janata PartyBJP
2Suresh PrabhuNov 10, 2014Sept 03, 2017Bharatiya Janata PartyBJP
3DV Sadananda GowdaMay 27, 2014Nov 10, 2014Bharatiya Janata PartyBJP
4Mallikarjun KhargeJun 17, 2013May 25, 2014Indian National CongressINC
5CP JoshiMay 11, 2013Jun 16, 2013Indian National CongressINC
6Pawan Kumar BansalOct 28, 2012May 10, 2013Indian National CongressINC
7CP JoshiSep 22, 2012Oct 28, 2012Indian National CongressINC
8Mukul RoyMar 20, 2012Sep 21, 2012Trinamool CongressTMC
9Dinesh TrivediJul 12, 2011Mar 14, 2012Trinamool CongressTMC
10Mamata BanerjeeMay 26, 2009May 19, 2011Trinamool CongressTMC
11Lalu Prasad YadavMay 23, 2004May 25, 2009Rashtriya Janata DalRJD
12Nitish KumarMar 20, 2001May 22, 2004Janata Dal (United)JDU
13Mamata BanerjeeOct 13, 1999Mar 15, 2001Trinamool CongressTMC
14Ram NaikAug 6, 1999Oct 12, 1999Bharatiya Janata PartyBJP
15Nitish KumarMar 19, 1998Aug 5, 1999Samata PartySP
16Ram Vilas PaswanJun 1, 1996Mar 19, 1998Janata DalJD
17Jaffer ShariefJun 21, 1991Oct 16, 1995Indian National CongressINC
18Janeshwar MishraNov 21, 1990Jun 21, 1991Samajwadi Janata PartySJP
19George FernandesDec 5, 1989Nov 10, 1990Janata DalJD
20Madhavrao ScindiaOct 22, 1986Dec 1, 1989Indian National CongressINC
21Mohsina KidwaiJun 24, 1986Oct 21, 1986Indian National CongressINC
22Bansi LalDec 31, 1984Jun 4, 1986Indian National CongressINC
23ABA Ghani Khan ChoudhurySep 2, 1982Dec 31, 1984Indian National CongressINC
24Prakash Chandra SethiJan 15, 1982Sep 2, 1982Indian National CongressINC
25Kedar PandeyNov 12, 1980Jan 14, 1982Indian National CongressINC
26Kamalapati TripathiJan 14, 1980Nov 12, 1980Indian National CongressINC
27TA PaiJul 30, 1979Jan 13, 1980Janata Party (Secular)JPS
28Madhu DandavateMar 26, 1977Jul 28, 1979Janata PartyJP
29Kamalapati TripathiFeb 11, 1975Mar 23, 1977Indian National CongressINC
30Lalit Narayan MishraFeb 5, 1973Jan 2, 1975Indian National CongressINC
31TA PaiJul 23, 1972Feb 4, 1973Indian National CongressINC
32K HanumanthaiyaMar 18, 1971Jul 22, 1972Indian National CongressINC
33Gulzarilal NandaFeb 18, 1970Mar 17, 1971Indian National CongressINC
34Panampilli Govinda MenonNov 4, 1969Feb 18, 1970Indian National CongressINC
35Ram Subhag SinghFeb 14, 1969Nov 4, 1969Indian National CongressINC
36CM PoonachaMar 13, 1967Feb 14, 1969Indian National CongressINC
37SK PatilJun 9, 1964Mar 12, 1967Indian National CongressINC
38HC DasappaSep 21, 1963Jun 8, 1964Indian National CongressINC
39Swaran SinghApr 10, 1962Sep 21, 1963Indian National CongressINC
40Jagjivan RamDec 7, 1956Apr 10, 1962Indian National CongressINC
41Lal Bahadur ShastriMay 13, 1952Dec 7, 1956Indian National CongressINC
42N Gopalaswami AyyangarSep 22, 1948May 13, 1952Indian National CongressINC
43John MathaiAug 15, 1947Sep 22, 1948Indian National CongressINC
44Asaf AliSep 2, 1946Aug 14, 1947Indian National CongressINC

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of